Advisory Committees [2018]

Equity & Tribal Advisory Committee

Our Equity & Tribal Advisory Committee members provide guidance and support to better integrate critical equity and tribal considerations throughout the 3rd California Adaptation Forum by establishing measurable goals and identifying concrete strategies to achieve these goals. This committee has played an invaluable role in ensuring that equity, tribal, environmental justice, and rural issues and voices are represented at the 3rd California Adaptation Forum, as well as to find opportunities to enable participation from under-resourced organizations. With appreciation and respect for the work that our committee members do in their local communities, as well as for the time that they have contributed in supporting the Forum, we extend our deepest gratitude to each of our committee members.

Angela Mooney D’Arcy

Executive Director | Sacred Places Institute for Indigenous Peoples

Aurash Khawarzad

Director of Policy and Strategy | Race Forward

Caleen Sisk

Chief | Winnemem Wintu Tribe

David Jaber

Director | Blue Star Integrative Studio

Dore Bietz

Planner/Emergency Manager | Tuolumne Band of Me-Wuk Indians

Dorette English

Health Program and Policy Specialist | California Department of Public Health

Fernando Cazares

California Manager Climate-Smart Cities | The Trust for Public Land

Hoi-Fei Mok

Program Officer | ICLEI Local Governments for Sustainability

Joe Hostler

Environmental Protection Specialist | Yurok Tribe Environmental Program

Jonathan Kusel

Executive Director | Sierra Institute for Community and Environment

Jordyn Bishop

Environmental Equity Legal Fellow | The Greenlining Institute

Lucas Zucker

Policy Director | Central Coast Alliance United for a Sustainable Economy (CAUSE)

Maggie Sanders

Executive | Nisqually Indian Tribe

Phoenix Love Armenta

Coordinator | Resilient Communities Initiative

Sascha Petersen

Director | Adaptation International

Sona Mohnot

Program Manager / Policy Analyst, Environmental Equity Team | The Greenlining Institute

Victoria Benson

Program Manager | Movement Strategy Center

Program Advisory Committee

Our Program Advisory Committee members have been at the forefront of California’s adaptation movement, representing a wide range of sectors, disciplines, and areas of expertise. This committee has provided guidance to help shape a dynamic program for participants – from the big, bold issues to feature in plenary sessions to the narrative we can build throughout the event. We thank our committee members, particularly our session leads and track champions, for their time and contributions to supporting the overall success of the 3rd California Adaptation Forum.

Aaron Klemm

Chief, Energy and Sustainability | California State University

Alexandra Leumer

Climate Policy Analyst | The Nature Conservancy

Amy Hutzel

Deputy Executive Officer | CA State Coastal Conservancy

Beth Gibbons

Executive Director | Adaptation Professionals

Colin Kelly

Healthy Watersheds California Manager | Pacific Forest Trust

Curtis E. Alling

Principal | Ascent Environmental, Inc.

Daniel Barry

Director, Path to Positive Communities | ecoAmerica

David Behar

Climate Program Director | San Francisco Public Utilities Commission

Deborah Halberstadt

Executive Director | CA Ocean Protection Council

Deborah Moore

Western States Senior Campaign Manager | Union of Concerned Scientists

Devin Middlebrook

Sustainability Program Coordinator | Tahoe Regional Planning Agency

Ellie Cohen

CEO | Point Blue Conservation Science

Emily Wasley

Director of Climate Security, Adaptation, and Resilience | The Cadmus Group LLC

Garrett Wong

Sr. Sustainability Analyst, City of Santa Monica

Jeff Henderson

Deputy Executive Officer | Delta Stewardship Council

Jenn Phillips

Policy Advisor | CA Ocean Protection Council

Jessica Grannis

Adaptation Program Director | Georgetown Climate Center

Jessie Feller Hahn

Executive Director | Meeting of the Minds

Jim Branham

Executive Officer | Sierra Nevada Conservancy

Joey Wall

Special Assistant for Climate Change | California Natural Resources Agency

John Andrew

Assistant Deputy Director | CA Department of Water Resources

John Blue

Manager of Climate Programs | CA Environmental Protection Agency

Jonathan Parfrey

Executive Director | Climate Resolve

Kara Heckert

California Director | American Farmland Trust

Karalee Browne

Program Manager, Sustainable Communities | Institute for Local Government

Laura Engeman

Program Manager | Center for Climate Change Impacts and Adaptation

Laurel Hunt

Executive Director | Los Angeles Regional Collaborative for Climate Action and Sustainability

Louis Blumberg

Director, California Climate Change Program | The Nature Conservancy

Matt Henigan

Deputy Secretary for Sustainability | CA Government Operations Agency

Meg Arnold

Managing Director | Valley Vision

Michael Boswell

Professor | California Polytechnic State University

Michael McCormick

Senior Planning Advisor | CA Governor’s Office of Planning and Research

Mike Antos

Senior Watershed Manager | Santa Ana Watershed Project Authority

Millie Levin

Emergency Management Policy Analyst | CA Office of Emergency Services

Nikki Caravelli

Project Manager | Sierra Business Council

Nile Malloy

Senior Program Manager | Neighborhood Funders Group

Nuin-Tara Key

Resilience Program Manager | CA Governor’s Office of Planning and Research

Rachel Jacobson

Senior Program Manager | American Society of Adaptation Professionals

Robert Kay

Principal, Climate Change | ICF

Sabrina Bornstein

Deputy Chief Resilience Officer | City of Los Angeles, Mayor’s Office

Steve Frisch

President | Sierra Business Council

Yoon Kim

Director of Advisory Services | Four Twenty Seven